Sean Phillips

Sean Phillips has been a key component in leading UIC to the winningest era in its history.

Phillips led the Flames to their third Horizon League title in the last four seasons in 2016 when UIC won the tournament championship for the fourth time in program history. The crown gave the Flames the automatic bid into the NCAA Tournament, where they made their sixth all-time appearance in a First Round matchup against #17 Loyola. The 5-3-1 conference season allotted UIC a second-place finish as Andrew Putna was named Goalkeeper of the Year for the second time in his career and placed on the All-League First Team with Jose Fuentes and Max Todd.

The Flames claimed the regular season championship in 2015 after the team produced a near undefeated record of 6-1-2 in conference play, marking just the sixth one-loss season in program history. Phillips earned his second Horizon League Coach of the Year distinction while coaching Player of the Year Manny Chavez and Co-Offensive Player of the Year Jorge Alvarez.

UIC had one of its most successful seasons in 2013 when it concluded with a 16-4-0 record after winning 16 of its last 18 games and producing a 10-match win streak into the postseason. While making an appearance in the national rankings at No. 23 on Nov. 12, the Flames ended the regular season at 15-3-0, setting a program record for most wins during the regular season, and 7-0-0 in the Horizon League, marking the most conference wins in program history and the first time UIC had won every League match. The feat allowed the Flames to clinch the Horizon League regular season title and the No. 1 seed for the first time since 2008. Phillips capped off the season by being named Horizon League Coach of the Year alongside Player of the Year Bob Novak, Defensive Player of the Year Josh Beard and Freshman and Goalkeeper of the Year Andrew Putna.

With Phillips as the fifth all-time head coach, UIC has recorded a pair of wins over Ohio State (one each in 2010 and 2012) and prominent victories over Gonzaga and Milwaukee (both in 2013), captured two UIC Soccer Classic titles and had eight players receive All-Region accolades, in addition to earning the NSCAA Team Academic Award.